Kendrick Lamar Releases Star-Studded Tracklist For Black Panther Soundtrack

By Eóin Donnelly

It’s almost here! On February 9 we will finally have the soundtrack for Marvel’s highly-anticipated and already critically-acclaimed Black Panther. Curated alongside Top Dawg Entertainment head honcho Anthony ‘Top Dawg’ Tippith, I couldn’t be more excited for Kendrick’s contribution to Marvel’s latest blockbuster. Kung Fu Kenny is featured on five of the fourteen tracks: as well as the previously released ‘All The Stars’ with SZA and ‘King’s Dead’ with Jay Rock and Future, the two-time Rap Album of the Year Grammy winner will be lending his virtuosic mic skills to a surefire banger ‘Big Shot’ with feature king Travis Scott, an album-closing collaboration with The Weeknd titled ‘Pray For Me’- I expect nothing less than sonic gold- and his very own ‘Black Panther.’

Other guests include Khalid and Rae Sremmurd’s Swae Lee (‘The Ways’), Schoolboy Q and 2 Chainz (‘X’), Vince Staples (‘Opps’) and Ab-Soul and Anderson .Paak (‘Bloody Waters’ with James Blake). True to the Afrofuturist setting of the film, the soundtrack also contains features from local South African musicians Reason, Babes Wodumo, Sjava, Saudi and Yugen Blakrok. With a vision that appears both authentic and filled with star power, Black Panther: The Album promises to be a listening experience that is integral rather than merely complimentary to the film.

The full tracklist for 2018’s most anticipated blockbuster is as follows:

1. Kendrick Lamar – ‘Black Panther’

2. Kendrick Lamar, SZA – ‘All The Stars’

3. Schoolboy Q, 2 Chainz, Saudi – ‘X’

4. Khalid, Swae Lee – ‘The Ways’

5. Vince Staples, Yugen Blakrok – ‘Opps’

6. Jorja Smith – ‘I Am’

7. SOB x RBE – ‘Paramedic!’

8. Ab-Soul, Anderson .Paak, James Blake – ‘Bloody Waters’

9. Jay Rock, Kendrick Lamar, Future, James Blake – ‘King’s Dead’

10. ‘Redemption Interlude’

11. Zacari, Babes Wodumo- ‘Redemption’

12. Mozzy, Sjava, Reason – ‘Seasons’

13. Kendrick Lamar, Travis Scott – ‘Big Shot’

14. The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar – ‘Pray For Me’

Black Panther is released in cinemas in the UK on February 13 with the soundtrack to be released on February 9. Whether you’re a Marvel nut or a hip-hop aficionado, neither day can come soon enough.